Weds poetry prompt: ‘Bottled Sunlight’ (‘You should’ poem prompt)

Didn't think I'd find a pic on Google images that captured the title so perfectly!
Didn’t think I’d find a pic on Google images that captured the title so perfectly!

Another week, and another poetry prompt from the Writer’s Digest site (see page here), once again a day late 😛 But I digress – the prompt this week was to simply write a ‘You should’ poem, and this is what resulted from my grey matter. This kind of ended up being me giving advice to myself, I guess – a few things have gotten me down this week, but knowing I had a day to just chill and write today was keeping me going; I suppose this is somewhat the result of these feelings. Hope it’s motivational for others too! Enjoy…

Bottled Sunlight

You should take every chance,
Snatch each of the sunny days
And bottle that light up tight
For days when it’s needed the most.

You should pursue the dreams
That keep blackness at bay
And force out the doubters
That threaten your burning vision.

You should not stay in a place
Where your voice is met with silence
And your passion is paid no mind,
To stay is to let it turn to bitter poison.

You should stare fear in the face
And fight against the ‘however’,
Obliterate all the nagging ‘buts’
That hold back wishes of the heart.

You should find the courage
To take control of the roaring fire
That sparks your deepest desires,
And forge your way in this frightful land.

You should make life your own
In spite of the struggle and strife
And tread with no trailing fear
With head held up to an infinite sky.

2 thoughts on “Weds poetry prompt: ‘Bottled Sunlight’ (‘You should’ poem prompt)

Leave a Reply

