Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 23 – ‘The Hardest Word’

sorryjpg

Today’s prompt was to write an ‘Apology’ poem. That thing that so many of us find so hard to do…perhaps actually easier to put in poetic form than say it out loud! Here are my musings upon the subject, anyway…

The Hardest Word

That soothing word that can heal
Even the widest rifts
And calm the harshest storms.

***

I’m sorry for those days
Where I shut you all out.
I’m sorry for letting selfishness
Devour my foolish ego so.
I’m sorry for my sharp words
That have stung in the worst spots.
I’m sorry that I don’t always know
When to stop or take a step back.
I’m sorry for all those times
That I have laid blame at the wrong feet.
I’m sorry for the part of my brain
That lashes out against the rational.

***

It may be the hardest word to say
But the easiest one to cherish
For it is not said often enough
In a world so fearful of being wrong.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out <a href=”http://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-

2 thoughts on “Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 23 – ‘The Hardest Word’

Leave a Reply

