The Dance of Dark and Light (NOV PAD Challenge next steps…)

dragonyinyangjpg

So I may have lied a little in my last post, about how I would be fully focused on working on my novel after completing the Writers Digest November Poem-a-Day chapbook challenge (deep breath), but I then wanted to go full steam ahead and begin on the ‘next steps’, as detailed within this post on Writer’s Digest.  I have until January to submit a manuscript for the competition, but I wanted to at least begin choosing what poems would be included (as the limitation is 10-20 pages, meaning I certainly wouldn’t be able to include all 30 poems), and begin revising them. So I spent the better part of two afternoons doing this, and finally picked a selection that all have common themes, and even tell a story of sorts, after I arranged them into an appropriate order (almost a ‘concept album’, I suppose). The title just fell into place naturally, taken from Day 3’s poem in fact. So here is a list of what poems made it in, and what should be the final order, unless I keep changing my mind (which is reasonably likely). Try reading them in this sequence and see what you think! Revisions still likely (I’ve already changed the title of Day 8’s poem, for example…)

The Dance of Dark and Light

Like these poems? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out <a href=”http://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-

5 thoughts on “The Dance of Dark and Light (NOV PAD Challenge next steps…)

Leave a Reply

