Weds poetry prompt: ‘The Ten-Line Predicament’ (‘Ten lines or fewer’ poem prompt)

frustratedwriter

So I’m trying to get back into the swing of these Wednesday poetry prompts after not doing ’em for a while. Yes today is Thursday, so I’m technically catching up with yesterday’s, but shush 😛 This week’s prompt was to write a ‘Ten Lines or Fewer’ poem. To be honest, I can usually manage with this sort of restriction, but I thought I’d be a bit silly and tongue-in-cheek with this one by making it about the challenge itself. So I hope you enjoy, dear reader…

The Ten-Line Predicament

There is so much I wish to say
And deep thoughts to convey,
But alas, not nearly enough time
And only a limited number of lines.
In fact I may have wasted some
Simply by stating this obvious fact.
There is but one inevitable outcome
To me agreeing to a ten-line pact,
And that is a grand poetic gaffe
That still might be good for a laugh.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

