Weds poetry prompt: ‘A Cave Beneath the Covers’ (‘Book’ poem prompt)

book-cave
(Photo is of a rather marvellous scuplture by Guy Laramee)

Yesterday’s prompt: Write a ‘book’ poem.

This one ended up being about books in general rather than about a specific book. I expect you’ll see how it relates to my choice of image. Enjoy fellow bookworms…

A Cave Beneath the Covers

They always call out to me,
But their faces tell little,
With only a name and title
To tempt my curious touch,
That I will then know the story
That each is dying to share.

They sit in an orderly line,
Hiding their heart and soul,
Their very essence and core
From all but true believers
Who will spare the time
To find the treasure inside.

I observe each silent signal
Pondering the potential within,
One could change my life
Another could teach and inspire,
So that someday I form my own
To join them on a widening shelf.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

2 thoughts on “Weds poetry prompt: ‘A Cave Beneath the Covers’ (‘Book’ poem prompt)

Leave a Reply

