Inkitt Grand Novel Contest (and my own novel plans!)

3185fa40-c172-40a4-9aa3-a3bd04abccdb

I was made aware of this via Twitter – https://www.inkitt.com/grand?utm_source=twb&utm_campaign=grandcontest&utm_medium=3&utm_term=1457990507

I plan on entering the novel I have currently been working on for the past year or so, Searching for Sunset, for this competition. This has given me the drive to finally push ahead and try and finish the thing, which will take a lot of work in order for to meet the June 7th deadline, but I think it can be done. I am expecting to spend a lot of time re-writing and editing, however!

The novel concerns a young gay man who is a bit of a social misfit, and is trying to move past the pain from his previous relationship. An aspiring writer, his life changes when he meets a gentleman with similar ambitions through the infamous phone app, Grindr. (a lot of the story is based on personal experience, while other parts are a little more fantastical).

For any other aspiring novelists out there, this contest may be worth a look – there is also the chance to get critiques on your writing from other entrants, so even if you don’t win there should be something to get out of it. I may post about my progress on the novel over the coming months, but I thought I would bring this contest to people’s attention 🙂 Good luck to anyone who enters…

Check out my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

