2016 April PAD Challenge Day 1: ‘What Makes a Fool’ #aprpad

fools

So I’m taking part in this year’s April Poem-a-Day Challenge, ran through the Writer’s Digest website. I actually have a few days to catch up on here, so do bear with me πŸ˜‰ I enjoy these sort of challenges with a prompt each day as it gives me the inspiration and drive to write, and sometimes force me to tackle subjects or forms I wouldn’t normally think to attempt. I actually took part in it last year as well, but that was before I started this blog; so, with each day, I will also be posting the poem from the previous year, as well – so a double whammy every day for you lucky people. However, I won’t be for the first day as that poem actually ended up in my collection, The Awakening, which is avaliable for purchase in the link after the poem πŸ˜‰ So without further ado…

Day 1’s prompt: Write a ‘foolish’ poem.

What Makes a Fool

So many things make fools
Of even the sharpest tools.
Time with its cruel hand,
Drowning us in falling sand.
Love with its blind eye
Before ours open and cry.
Trust with its tempting words,
Then leaving us to look absurd.
Take solace in the simple fact
That none escape with sense intact,
And embrace that inner fool
That lives within us all.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 April PAD Challenge Day 1: ‘What Makes a Fool’ #aprpad

Leave a Reply

