2016 April PAD Challenge Day 21: ‘In Response to ‘The Translator’ by Sandra Beasley’ #aprpad

translator

Day 21’s prompt: ‘Write a poem that responds (or somehow communicates) with another poem’

An interesting one today. I chose to respond to one of the examples they provided – which you can read here.

And my poem in response…

In Response to ‘The Translator’ by Sandra Beasley

At first I was amused
By abstract choice of words
And the rhythmic dance
Of tip-tapping ‘T’s’,
But then became moved,
At first by a sudden shift
To a lower, deeper room
And then the tome of sighs
To which I thusly sensed
A more sombre story coming.
So then, it struck me
The harsh tone of ‘dying’,
It stirred something in me
And willed me to read on
Even if I dreaded the end.
It turned from magical
To coldly clerical
With wrists and chests
Held by those in white coats,
Culminating in a cruel fate
To a throat pierced, drained
Of its twin voices.

***

Last year’s prompt for Day 21: Write a “what you are” poem, or…Write a “what you are not” poem

(I chose the former)

What I Am

I am a sensitive soul
Who cares too much
Some might say.

I am a dreamer
Who finds fantasy
In the stale familiars.

I am an overthinker
Who dreads and doubts
And sleeps little.

I am a quiet one
Who spares his breath
For those held dear.

I am a wanderer
Who can’t stand still
Or sit without a squirm.

I am myself
Who is never really sure
But gives it his all anyway.

Like these poems? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 April PAD Challenge Day 21: ‘In Response to ‘The Translator’ by Sandra Beasley’ #aprpad

Leave a Reply

