‘After Countless Compromise’ (2015 April PAD Challenge) #aprpad

shake

Last year’s prompt for Day 26: ‘Take a word or two invented by William Shakespeare, make it the title of your poem, and write your poem’

It’s surprising to learn just how many of the words we still use today were in fact, coined by Shakespeare; before writing this poem, for example, I had no idea we owed the words ‘Countless’ and ‘Compromise’ to him! Click here to see just how many we owe to the Great Bard (even ‘elbow!’)

Anyway, this is what I came up with – I used a few of his other coined words as well, which I have highlighted. Enjoy!

After Countless Compromise

Never have I known a soul so impudent
As yourself, when an invitation I extend,
Is rewritten to your own decree,
Regardless of what our weary selves wish.

I grant you a most generous negotiation,
A compromise to cater to your compulsion,
But still we must serve your stubborn self,
The same demand standing like stone.

For countless times I have relented
To your barefaced brazenness,
But now I am brave enough to battle
Against your senseless agitations.

No more shall you callously ignore
The world that whimpers around you
You are not its pivotal champion
And its people live not to please you.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

