‘The End of the Matter’ (2015 April PAD Challenge) #aprpad

not listening

Last year’s prompt for Day 28: Write a ‘matter’ poem, or an ‘anti-matter’ poem

I opted for the former, though I perhaps didn’t completely follow the intention of this prompt (i.e. ‘matter’ in terms of what things are made of), but here it is anyway…

The End of the Matter

It really doesn’t matter
How much inane chatter
I have to bear from you,
My mind muddles through,
And shuts down the part
That takes critique to heart.

In fact it’s off most of the day
As, truthfully, you don’t pay
Enough money nor attention
For me to keep such pretension.
So as much as you huff and puff,
My mind is made of stronger stuff.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

