2016 April PAD Challenge Day 30: ‘Dead End’ #aprpad

Dead-end

Day 30’s prompt: Write a ‘dead end’ poem.

And so we reach the end of this year’s April PAD Challenge. This poem might seem like a bit of a bleak note to go out on, but there is a glimmer of hope towards the end 😉 Hope you’ve enjoyed reading my poems this month!

Dead End

Trapped in this rattling car
I slammed foot on pedal
Desperately trying, hoping
To drive on to dreams ahead,
A destination finally in sight,
Only for panic to pull me back.

So many signs passed by,
But I don’t know which to follow,
I could take the fast lane
At risk of rapid ruin
Or savour the scenic route
Only to get stuck in looming rut.

And so I drive on,
Allowing my auto-pilot
To navigate a never-ending
Highway of hesitations
And chances not taken
That has no clear end.

One day I’ll break free,
Slash this self-imposed seatbelt
And barrel out the doors,
Ready to run again
To the better days
Beyond this black tunnel.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

2 thoughts on “2016 April PAD Challenge Day 30: ‘Dead End’ #aprpad

Leave a Reply

