Years of My Life: 1989

1989

To recap: This is a series of posts that will cover each year of my life since my birth in 1987; mainly the things that interest me that happened/were released or conceived that particular year. This will include happenings in the world of music, video games, literature and television that are of particular importance or nostalgia to me. I’m hoping that this will give my followers a better idea of where my interests and passions in life lie 🙂

Check out the previous post for 1988 here.

On to 1989!

Firstly – my brother was born on May 8th of this year. He is now the father of my beautiful 7-month old niece. Kind of puts in perspective how time just seems to fly by!

In the news:

Births:

Deaths:

In Literature:

150px-Salman_Rushdie

February 14The Satanic Verses controversy: Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, Supreme Leader of Iran (died 3 June 1989), issues a fatwa calling for the death of Indian-born British author Salman Rushdie and his publishers for issuing the novel The Satanic Verses (1988). On February 24 Iran places a US $3 million bounty on Rushdie’s head.

 

 

In Music:

220px-The_Stone_Roses_-_Made_of_Stone

The Stone Roses: Made of Stone  (self-titled debut album, 1989)

If I inherited some of my mother’s musical taste through Bon Jovi, it was through the Stone Roses that I inherited my Dad’s, particularly ‘Made of Stone’ from their debut album released in May of this year. There is just something about this band’s sound that I really like – there’s just something kind of distant and haunting about it. ‘I Wanna Be Adored’, ‘This is the One’ and ‘I Am The Resurrection’ are particular favourites of mine from this album as well. They actually only released one other studio album following this, one, the appropriately titled Second Coming, in 1994, which is somewhat of a shame in my opinion. I only got round to checking out this second album recently, and very much enjoyed that one as well. They did, however, recently release a new single, ‘All for One’ , which is rather good too.

As an amusing bonus: The band made their début on national British TV by performing this song on BBC’s cultural show The Late Show in September 1989. The power went out 60 seconds into the song and Ian Brown walked off shouting “amateurs…amateurs…we’re wasting our time here lads”.[1]

Link to video for ‘Made of Stone’ here.

 

In Television:

xmas-simpsons

December 17th: First episode of The Simpsons airs: ‘Simpsons Roasting an Open Fire’ (aka The Simpsons Christmas Special)

We covered the original shorts that aired on the Tracey Ullman Show back in the entry for 1987, but this was the debut of The Simpsons as a full half-hour series. At the time, I don’t think anyone, including the producers/writers thought we’d be here in 2016 and the show still going on (whether it’s still going strong is down to personal opinion, and I’ll try not to get too negative about that here). This was the episodes that started it all, although it was actually the 8th episode produced for the first season (the intended first episode, ‘Some Enchanted Evening’, was held all the way back to air as the season finale, due to major problems with the animation) Still, this serves well as enough as a first episode, a Simpsonian take on a Christmas special that openly mocks the sickly sweet specials you typically got with most television shows up to that point (although it does veer a little close to saccharine territory itself). The show was still finding its feet, for sure, but it definitely has that trademark Simpsons streak of cynicism and satire. A hint of what was to come, I suppose. This episode and season one as a whole are a little hard to sit through, these days, but it is the humble origins of what would become a great show – at least up until around 1997. (I’ll stop before I rant about the current state of the show…)

In Video Games:

Game-Boy-Original

Nintendo releases the Game Boy handheld console, the first popular handheld with cartridges.

-As I mentioned previously, I was chiefly a Sega boy growing up, so I didn’t actually own a Game Boy at the time – but its importance in the history of video gaming cannot really be disputed. It kicked off Nintendo’s dominance in the realm of handheld gaming, with various updates and new models on the Game Boy through the years – the 3DS being the current iteration and still going strong.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, wraps up 1989. See you next time!

Previous entries in ‘Years of My Life’:

  1. 1987
  2. 1988

Check out my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

7 thoughts on “Years of My Life: 1989

Leave a Reply

