Years of My Life: 1990

Jon_bon_jovi-blaze_of_glory

To recap: This is a series of posts that will cover each year of my life since my birth in 1987; mainly the things that interest me that happened/were released or conceived that particular year. This will include happenings in the world of music, video games, literature and television that are of particular importance or nostalgia to me. I’m hoping that this will give my followers a better idea of where my interests and passions in life lie πŸ™‚

Check out the previous post for 1989 here.

On to 1990!

World events:

Births:

Allison_Scagliotti_by_Gage_Skidmore
Allison Scagliotti

 

 

Deaths:

120px-Roald_Dahl
Roald Dahl

 

 

In Music:

BlazeofGlory(single)

Jon Bon Jovi: Blaze of Glory (Blaze of Glory,Β  1990)

This song featured on Bon Jovi’s first solo album of the same name, however it actually debuted as the theme for the movie Young Guns II, also released this year. Apparently the film’s star, Emillio Estevez, had requested the song “Wanted Dead or Alive” for use in the film, however Bon Jovi did not feel it was a good fit and composed a new song especially instead. It actually ended up winning the award for ‘Best Original Song’ in the 1990 Golden Globe Awards. I’ve not seen the film myself, but the song is decent for one of his first solo efforts – it may have a similar intent as ‘Dead or Alive’ – i.e. the lyrics even proclaim ‘I’m a wanted man’ and ‘I’m a devil on the run’, but its still a good song in it’s own right, the western influence obvious but still unmistakably Bon Jovi. It has that signature balance of triumph and tragedy seen in most of his songs; a blaze of glory it may be, but there is also the powerful words of ‘I’ve seen love come, I’ve seen it shot down, I’ve seen it die in vain’ – and the final wish to ‘let this boy die like a man’ and to ‘make my final stand’. Yet it still feels like it goes out on an uplifting note as well. Well deserving of that Golden Globe Award, I say.

Link to video for ‘Blaze of Glory’ here.

In Film/Literature:

Handmaids_tale

March 9 – The Handmaid’s Tale released

Based on the Margaret Atwood novel, which is one of my favourite books (and the first of hers I read, back in English Lit. class in sixth form college). Upon seeing the film, I don’t recall being too impressed – and neither was the screenplay writer himself, apparently (details in the linked Wiki article). I think one of the main problems is the concept of adapting Atwood’s work to film in the first place – given the amount of interior monologue, in this book especially. I haven’t seen it in several years, however, so I may give it another go for curiosity’s sake…

220px-Frankenstein_Unbound_FilmPoster

November 2 – Frankenstein Unbound released

Based on the Brian Aldiss novel, which coincidentally I just finished reading, discovering there was a film adaptation while putting this post together. Having enjoyed the book, I’ll be checking this film out, although the critical reception doesn’t seem to be too favourable – oh well, only one way to find out, as they say!

 

 

In Video Games:

250px-Game-Gear-Handheld

  • October 6, Sega Game Gear released in Japan, launched in North America in 1991 and Europe and Australia in 1992.

Ah, the Game Gear. While I have fond memories of this handheld, most of them are of playing it at home, with it plugged into the mains, rather than taking it on any car journeys or trips away – mainly because the thing sucked batteries dry in no time at all, a cost of it’s full colour display (compared to the green and black of the Game Boy). Despite its failure to truly function as a handheld, it still had some good games to boot – including its own unique series of Sonic games and spin-offs. There are hidden treasures within that chunky black brick, I can assure you πŸ˜‰

mega drive eu
November 30 – Sega’s Mega Drive released in Europe

And that, ladies and gentlemen, wraps up 1990. See you next time!

Previous entries in ‘Years of My Life’:

  1. 1987
  2. 1988
  3. 1989

Check out my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

7 thoughts on “Years of My Life: 1990

Leave a Reply

