Excerpts from a ‘Positives Notebook’ (#1)

positive-writing

So I recently began a ‘Positives Notebook’, which is more or less what the name would suggest – a notebook to jot down positive things about you and your life, a recommended technique from a course I attended focusing on Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (which I was placed on after continuing depression and anxiety, due to a number of things in my life which I won’t go into here). And actually, it is a really helpful way of keeping yourself focused and positive – writing down what I have actually done/achieved today has made me feel ten times better about myself. It was also recommended to put photos of friends/lyrics from songs you like within it, which i will probably start doing. I just thought I’d share a bit of what I have written in it so far, and hopefully this can be useful to someone who suffers from these issues…

What I like about myself:

  • Honest
  • Trustworthy
  • Creative
  • Loyal

Skills I have acquired:

  • Writing
  • Spelling
  • Analytical skills
  • Computer skills
  • Cooking/baking etc.

What have I achieved in life?

  • Got a 2:1 BA in English Lit.
  • Got a poetry collection published
  • Got NVQ Level 2 in Health and Social Care
  • Begun to write a novel

What challenges have I faced in life?

  • Being shy
  • Being bullied
  • Being self-conscious
  • University
  • Moving away from home
  • ‘Him’
  • Depression

(but overcame these things!)

Gifts/talents

  • Good writer/poet
  • Good with computer/video games

Positive Qualities

  • Honest
  • Caring
  • Generous
  • Trustworthy
  • Loyal
  • Loving
  • Sensitive

How would a person who cares about me describe me? (written by my boyfriend)

Kind, considerate, generous, loyal, sensitive, maybe a little shy, can be restless, can be too hard on himself, worries a lot, looking for adventure.

***

Expect to see more from this in the future, including ‘What I actually did today’, which always makes you feel better when you actually list the things you did, trust me! Just wanted to share a great technique that really helped me, obviously appealing to me as a writer, but I’m sure would be beneficial to anybody 🙂

Check out my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

