2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 3 – ‘If I’d Only Been Bolder’

empty-room

Yesterday’s prompt: take the phrase “If I’d Only (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem.

If I’d Only Been Bolder

Would I have less reason to regret
As time turns me slowly older?
Wasted chances I’d like to forget
Leave me feeling ever colder
As I long for that warmth I once knew
When leaning upon a lost love’s shoulder.
But now in these bitter days of blue
I ask this empty room, if I’d only been bolder,
Could I have shared the years with you?

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 3 – ‘If I’d Only Been Bolder’

Leave a Reply

