2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 5 – ‘Self-Destruct Switch’

man-plugged-in

Today’s prompt: Write an ‘wire’ poem (I chose to write one about being wired)

Self-Destruct Switch

After a slumber unplugged
From the demands of the world
I wake up fully wired
Wondering how to fit in
All these self-imposed tasks
I have decided must be done
Within the depleting day.

I’m already on the edge
As I leap up out of bed
With bleary eyes, I seek fuel
In the form of sweet caffeine
Believing it might charge
My barely conscious mind
And jump-start my motivation circuit.

But a current of crippling doubt
Courses through me instead,
Worries consume so many watts
Of my shaky operating system
That the rest of me flickers out,
Returning again only after
I’ve overclocked past my capacity.

I am left now in static sadness
Cursing my mortal limitations
That I have no control over.
I lie back down to recharge,
Silently promising to slow down
And not try so hard tomorrow,
Only to inevitably do it all over again.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 5 – ‘Self-Destruct Switch’

Leave a Reply

