2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 9 – ‘Call Me at 3am’

insomnia

Yesterday’s prompt: Write a ‘Call me (Blank) poem’

Call me at 3am

Call me at 3 in the morning,
Tell me it’ll all be okay
As I lay wide-eyed worrying
Over words from another life
Said to faces lost to time,
Or over crises yet to come
That could be mere creations
Of a sleep-deprived mind.

Call me at 3 in the morning,
As I pointlessly toss and turn over
Whether I made the right call
In that quick snap decision
Of nearly a decade ago,
Or if I could have fought more
To keep the crumbling status quo
From falling right under my feet.

Call me at 3 in the morning,
When I wonder the point of it all
And whether it’s even worth
All these sick and tired tears.
But when I hear your soothing voice
The world makes sense again,
And your words soon drown out
My demons for another day.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 9 – ‘Call Me at 3am’

Leave a Reply

