2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 14 – ‘To My Former Self’

former-self

Today’s prompt: Write a dedication poem.

To My Former Self

Oh the things I could tell the me
From seven-odd years ago,
Which small, piddling molehills
I was making mountains out of,
What simple, minor setbacks
I was wasting so many tears over.

I would appear on the worst days
And tell of better times ahead,
Taking care not to show too much
Of what lies behind future’s curtain,
For the tests thrown at me then
Toughened me into the wiser man of now.

Last year’s poem for Day 14: ‘The Green Fairy’

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 14 – ‘To My Former Self’

Leave a Reply

