2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 23 – ‘When I Get Home’

duvet-days

Today’s prompt: Take the phrase “When (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem.

When I Get Home

When I get home
I peel out of my people clothes
Having had more than my fill
Of playing that role for one day,
I then put on the comfier attire
Specifically tailored for doing nothing,
And sink into the snugness of the sofa
That swallows productivity whole,
Ensuring I am not seen or heard from
Until life requires me to surface again.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 23 – ‘When I Get Home’

Leave a Reply

