2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 25 – ‘Tangling with Tape’

sellotape-meme

Yesterday’s prompt: ‘Write a tape poem. The poem could be about transparent tape, duct tape, video tape, or even tape worm. Anything that you can bend into a tape poem is fair game’.

Tangling with Tape

Oh I do get in a right tizzy
Wrapping my head round
That perplexing, vexing task
Of wrapping presents.
I find myself in a fight
With that roll of tape
Losing the elusive ‘end’
So many times until
I lose the will to live as well.
It becomes a blurred flurry
Of swearing and snipping
Leaving me blue-faced
And more tightly wound
Than the blasted tape itself.
I abandon the scissors
And in a senseless fit of rage
Find my savage beast within
And decide to bite down on it instead.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Chapbook Challenge Day 25 – ‘Tangling with Tape’

Leave a Reply

