2016 Nov PAD Challenge – Next Steps

editing

So November has been and gone once again, and thus I have completed the Writers Digest November PAD Chapbook challenge for another year. Well, the first step, anyway. Over the next few weeks I will be cracking on with the ‘next steps’ – which are detailed on WD’s page here. This is always a bit of a tough process, as I found last year, as the 10-20 page limit naturally means that you are not going to be able to include all 30 poems written, and revising and tightening up the ones you have picked out to make the cut is no easy task either. For last year’s challenge I ended up putting a collection together entitled ‘The Dance of Dark and Light’ , which did not win, obviously, but I must confess I haven’t yet made the effort of submitting it to any publishers or trying to get it out there, which I set to remedy in the coming months as well. I’m not sure what’s been holding me back from trying to get more of my work out into the world, but I shan’t be letting it stop me any longer 🙂

Although speaking of work that is already out there, my debut poetry collection, The Awakening, already avaliable as an ebook, will be avaliable in paperback very soon, which for me is very exciting indeed. The Amazon listing for the paperback version is here, but it is not avaliable to order just yet. I will be sure to let you know when it is, and please do get yourself a copy if you enjoy the poems that I post here on my blog, it would help me immensely and be much appreciated 🙂

Anyway, here is the full list of poems I wrote for this year’s Nov PAD Challenge. Expect an update very soon of the poems that make the cut into the actual chapbook I will be submitting for the competition. In the meantime, do feel free to let me know if you have any particular favourites out of these, and feedback and constructive criticism is of course always appreciated as well 🙂

  1. ‘Red or Green’
  2. ‘Creed of the Cat’
  3. ‘If I’d Only Been Bolder’
  4. ‘I’ll Wear a Different Life Today’
  5. ‘Self-Destruct Switch’
  6. ‘Phonophobia’
  7. ‘Spring Clean for the Soul’
  8. ‘The Same Old Story’
  9. ‘Call Me at 3am’
  10. ‘Tragic Things’
  11. ‘Knick-Knack Cat’
  12. ‘November’
  13. ‘Feel Awake’
  14. ‘To My Former Self’
  15. ‘To Live Among the Leaves’
  16. ‘Play That Song Again’
  17. ‘Paper Thoughts’
  18. ‘The Lure of the Limelight’
  19. ‘A Kitchen Haiku’
  20. ‘The More the Merrier?’
  21. ‘Set Thoughts Alight’
  22. ‘A Side to Share Sparingly’
  23. ‘When I Get Home’
  24. ‘Reconcilation’
  25. ‘Tangling with Tape’
  26. ‘Visitors at Night’
  27. ‘Suffer in Silence’
  28. ‘I Want More Time’
  29. ‘Infatuation with Imperfection’
  30. ‘Last Chance Saloon’

Check out my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

One thought on “2016 Nov PAD Challenge – Next Steps

Leave a Reply

