‘Confession of a Would-Be Writer’

confession

(A poem written from a prompt as part of last year’s April PAD Challenge from Writer’s Digest – the prompt being to write a ‘confession’ poem.)

Confession of a Would-Be Writer

I may wear the persona
Of the world-weary writer
But I feel I must confess
That some days, words
Do not spew so easily
From my blockaded brain.

Only excuses will exude
On those barren days,
Time spent to concoct
Those tales, not any
That inspire or excite
Or that I wish to write.

Write! Like it’s that easy,
That wretched old world
Always gets in the way.
Yet it is inspiration too,
This is the cruel curse
That creatives must bear.

The blank pages haunt me
Laugh at me in empty lines
This now is my confession
Simply so I can take solace
In the small consoling fact
That I have written something.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, available NOW for download as an eBook on Amazon. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

