Weds poetry prompt: ‘Tomatoes’

tomatoes-meme

Today’s prompt: Write a ‘Nope’ poem.

An interesting prompt once again this week – took me a while to think about, but in the end I decided to write about my somewhat paradoxical dislike of a certain fruit…hoping some can relate to this! Enjoy…

Tomatoes

I’ll always ask for ketchup,
I’ll happily slurp red soup,
I’ll even partake of a pizza
Drenched in that familiar paste,
Or prepare myself a pasta
Coated in its thick sauce,
But my tongue simply cannot abide
The frightful texture of the fruit
That spawned all these forth,
And will surely gag in retort,
Therefore I will always say ‘Nope!’
To the vile, rubbery bitterness
Otherwise known as the tomato,
And save my teeth and tongue the torture.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

3 thoughts on “Weds poetry prompt: ‘Tomatoes’

  1. Reminds me of the time a kid at Steak n’ Shake ordered a strawberry milkshake and then freaked out because it had strawberries in it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

