‘An Ocean Apart’

across-the-sea

(A poem written from a prompt as part of 2015’s April PAD Challenge from Writer’s Digest- which was to write an ‘across the sea’ poem)

An Ocean Apart

This gateway, but also barrier of blue
Severs my remote connection to you.
So I throw some small piece of me
Across this shifting, unsettled sea.

Fleeting image and clipped message
Is all I can project in this long passage.
Things you may see, read, or hear,
But the coveted touch is not near.

While our straining bond may bend,
Against testing times it will contend,
It shall not break, for your avatar
Channels through to me from afar.

We will fight through tide of time
Until your touch at last meets mine.
For now I dispatch my devotion
In form of trinkets across the ocean.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

