Weds poetry prompt: ‘Rock up a Storm Tonight’

guitar

So here we are at the last Wednesday prompt before I dive into this year’s April PAD Challenge on Saturday (as I have done for the past two years), where for the month of April, a poem will be posted everyday! I’m actually away on a cruise toward the end of the month, so there will no doubt be some frenzied catching up going on, but nonetheless! Anyway, enough of my rambling. Here is the last Weds prompt before the madness begins:

Today’s prompt: Pick a music genre, make that the title of your poem, and then write a poem

Rock up a Storm Tonight

After a tense and trying day
Full of tinny and irritating noise
Gnawing at the back of my head,
I like to blast out my own sound –
Screaming guitars and growling words
That put the world to rights
And channel a concealed anger
That can at last be unleashed
In the coming storm of defiance
That deafens the madding crowd –
Their nonsense no longer heard
Within my wall made of wonder
Where a rocking return to the primal
Is the purest form of therapy.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

Leave a Reply

