2017 April PAD Challenge Day 8: ‘A Mind Under Attack’ #aprpad

panic-attacks-help-online

Day 8’s prompt: Write a ‘panic’ poem.

This one was a little tricky for me to write – but I’m glad I did. It does really prove that there is a great therapeutic power in writing sometimes. Which reminds me, I really should get off my arse and start submitting that poetry collection themed around mental health to publishers…anyway! Here is today’s poem.

A Mind Under Attack

I feel nothing at first
Until ‘nothing’ becomes numb
And numbness gnaws into me,
Feeding on senseless fretting
That idleness has invented for me.

Soon it becomes self-loathing;
A cloud of crippling doubt
That convinces me I am incapable
Of any path or purpose
In this confused, detached world.

This all builds to a battle
Entirely out of my shaking hands
Where the body longs to slump
But panic seizes it into a frenzy
Of futile, meaningless fear.

When at last it is over
And only tears remain
Does the rational mind kick in again,
But coupled with accusing blame
For giving into the spiral of shame.

Last year’s poem for Day 8: ‘Doodles and Daydreams’

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

4 thoughts on “2017 April PAD Challenge Day 8: ‘A Mind Under Attack’ #aprpad

Leave a Reply

