Weds poetry prompt: ‘Panic’s Puppet’

stress

This week’s prompt: Write a ‘repair’ poem.

Panic’s Puppet

I’m all too quick to panic,
Easily shaken and rattled
By diving into needless battles,
Yes, I’m not always very selective
About where my stress is directed,
Expecting a swift resolution
After an impromptu mental explosion,
And broken pieces to magically reform
Following each inevitable storm
Of clouds which cannot be changed
Nor controlled, yet still I attempt to.
It is only after the eventual calm
That I can stand back and repair
The further damage I have done,
And find the correct answer.
If only the mind made its move first,
Before the heart hastily runs in
Then I might just spare myself
From this misguided torture
And recover the rational me for good.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

