Weds poetry prompt: ‘Bugged by Life’

bug-in-ear-cartoon

This week’s prompt: Write a ‘bug’ poem.

So I chose to combine the idiom of ‘something bugging you’ and bugs as in actual insects for this one – I’ll leave you to judge the result…!

Bugged by Life

‘What’s bugging you?’
‘Who’s pissed in your cornflakes?’
Ask those eternal irritants
Which only further frustrates
And deepens my distaste
For voices invading my headspace.

Hovering and talking away,
But ultimately saying nothing,
These vexing bugs sting not with venom,
But with tedious small-talk instead,
Threatening to take my very sanity
With babblings of utter banality.

Now don’t mistake me here,
I’m not some smug prick
Who’d compare the rest of humanity
To a bothersome cloud of flies,
But I do still savour silence
Above force-fed fakery to fill it.

So don’t drone on about the weather,
Or buzz in my ear incessantly
About petty things not worth the bother,
Talk to me of the wider world out there,
Beyond your narrow antennae,
And I might just tune you in…

…Above the noise of the many.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a Reply

