Weds poetry prompt: ‘Mr. Negative’

mr miserable

This week’s prompt: Write a ‘negative’ poem

‘Mr. Negative’

I’m often accused
Of my mind being skewed
Towards doom and gloom
And a cynical tendency
Of believing worst-case scenarios;
(Negative by name, negative by nature)
But don’t blame me
For taking a bitter stance,
Considering the circumstance
And hardly desirable traits
Of the ugly world around us;
For one might evade pain
And deceptive little games
By not having blind faith
In those who masquerade
As someone who gives a damn…

To trust is to be hurt
At some later point
When they’ve utterly exhausted
Your wavering usefulness
And discard you ruthlessly;
To believe the worst
From the very beginning
Is the best way of living,
To avoid disappointment
And pointless sniffles and tears-
Or maybe I’m just a grumpy bastard,
So blinded by anger of the past
That I can’t see the wood
For the vexing trees in front of me
And thus can’t see the light
Hiding in plain sight
Even within the darkest times.

Like this poem? Read more in my first poetry collection, ‘The Awakening’, avaliable NOW!

Paperback – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Awakening-Selection-Poems-Stuart-Peacock/dp/1911476335

eBook-: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B017BZBH6M

Leave a comment